States And Capital In Nigeria, Their Slogans & Current Governors 2020

states and capital in nigeria

There are currently 36 states in Nigeria with the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja as the Federal Capital Territory. These states have been in existence and since Nigeria got her independence in the 1960s but was fully official in 1996.

All states and capital in Nigeria are divided into 4 regions which are namely:

  • The Eastern Region
  • The Western Region
  • The Northern Region
  • The Southern Region

All states in Nigeria have various slogans and they are also known for these things. The slogan or motto of the Federal Republic of Nigeria is “Unity & Faith, Peace & Progressand this can also be seen on the Nigerian coat of arms.

This post contains all the information you need to know about all the 36 states and capital in Nigeria, their various slogans or mottos and current governors.

We will also include the number of Local government areas for each state but you can check out a previous post on the blog which contains a Complete List Of All Local Government Areas In Nigeria.

History Of State Creation In Nigeria

  • In the year 1952, General Lord Lugard created 4 regions which were the Eastern, Northern, Mid West and Western Regions.
  • In the year 1967, General Yakubu Gowon created 12 states in Nigeria. These states were Benue, Plateau, East Central, Kano, Kwara, Lagos, Mid-West, North-West, North-East, North-Central, Rivers, South-East, South-Western States.
  • In 1976, General Muritala Muhammed created more 19 states which are Anambra, Borno, Benue, Bauchi, Bendel, Cross-River, Gongola, Imo, Kano, Kaduna, Kwara, Niger, Ondo, Oyo, Ogun, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto and Lagos states.
  • In 1987, General Ibrahim Babaginda created additional 2 states which were Akwa-Ibom and Katsina states.
  • General Ibrahim Babaginda also created 9 states in 1991. These states were Adamawa, Abia, Delta, Enugu, Edo, Jigawa, Kogi, Taraba, Yobe and Osun states.
  • In 1996, General Sanni Abacha created added 6 states to the existing 30 states. These new states were Ekiti, Ebonyi, Bayelsa, Gombe, Nassarawa and Zamfara states.

36 States And Capital In Nigeria, Their Slogans & Current Governors For 2020

1. Abia State

  • Capital: Umuahia
  • Slogan: God’s own State
  • Current Governor: Okezie Ikpeazu

2. Adamawa State

  • Capital: Yola
  • Slogan: Highest peak of the nation
  • Current Governor: Jibrilla Bindow

3. Anambra

  • Capital: Akwa
  • Slogan: Light of the nation
  • Current Governor: Willie Obiano

4. Akwa Ibom

  • Capital: Uyo
  • Slogan: Land of promise
  • Current Governor: Udom Gabriel Emmanuel

5. Bauchi

  • Capital: Bauchi
  • Slogan: Pearl of Tourism
  • Current Governor: Mohammed Abdullahi Abubakar

6. Bayelsa

  • Capital: Yenagoa
  • Slogan: The Glory of All Lands
  • Current Governor: Henry Seriake Dickson

7. Benue

  • Capital: Makurdi
  • Slogan: Food basket of the Nation
  • Current Governor: Samuel Ortom

Read Also – Young Shall Grow Motors: Branches/Terminals And Contact Details

Read Also:  List Of States In The Niger Delta Region Of Nigeria

8. Borno

  • Capital: Maiduguri
  • Slogan: Home Of Peace
  • Current Governor: Babagana Zulum

9. Cross River

  • Capital: Calabar
  • Slogan: The people’s paradise
  • Current Governor: Benedict Ayade

10. Delta

  • Capital: Asaba
  • Slogan: The Finger of God
  • Current Governor: Ifeanyi Okowa

11. Ebonyi

  • Capital: Abakiliki
  • Slogan: The salt of the Nation
  • Current Governor: Dave Umahi

12. Enugu

  • Capital: Enugu
  • Slogan: Coal City State
  • Current Governor: Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi

13. Edo

  • Capital: Benin
  • Slogan: The Heart Beat of the Nation
  • Current Governor: Godwin Obaseki

14. Ekiti

  • Capital: Ado-Ekiti
  • Slogan: Land of honour and integrity
  • Current Governor: John Olukayode Fayemi

15. Gombe

  • Capital: Gombe
  • Slogan: Jewel in the Savannah Current Governor: Inuwa Yahaya

16. Imo

  • Capital: Owerri
  • Slogan: Eastern heartland
  • Current Governor: Hope Uzodimma

17. Jigawa

  • Capital: Dutse
  • Slogan: The New World 
  • Current Governor: Mohammadu Abubakar

18. Kaduna

  • Capital: Kaduna
  • Slogan: Centre of learning
  • Current Governor: Nasir Ahmad el-Rufai

19. Kano

  • Capital: Kano
  • Slogan: Centre of Commerce
  • Current Governor: Abdullahi Umar Ganduje

20. Katsina

  • Capital: Katsina
  • Slogan: State of Hospitality
  • Current Governor: Aminu Bello Masari

21. Kebbi

  • Capital: Birni Kebbi
  • Slogan: Land of Equity
  • Current Governor: Abubakar Atiku Bagudu

22. Kogi

  • Capital: Lokoja
  • Slogan: The Confluence State
  • Current Governor: Yahaya Bello

23. Kwara

  • Capital: Ilorin
  • Slogan: The state of Harmony
  • Current Governor: Abdulfatah Ahmed

24. Lagos

  • Capital: Ikeja
  • Slogan: The state of Harmony
  • Current Governor: Babajide Sanwo-olu
Read Also:  List Of The Most Corrupt African Countries

25. Nasarawa

  • Capital: Lafia
  • Slogan: The home of Solid Minerals
  • Current Governor: Abdullahi Sule

26. Niger

  • Capital: Minna
  • Slogan: The power State
  • Current Governor: Abubakar Sani Bello

27. Ogun

  • Capital: Abeokuta
  • Slogan: The Gateway State
  • Current Governor: Dapo Abiodun

28. Ondo

  • Capital: Akure
  • Slogan: The Sunshine State
  • Current Governor: Rotimi Akeredolu

29. Osun

  • Capital: Oshogbo
  • Slogan: Land of virtue
  • Current Governor: Isiaka Adegboyega Oyetola

30. Oyo

  • Capital: Ibadan
  • Slogan: The pacesetter State
  • Current Governor: Seyi Makinde

31. Plateau

Capital: Jos

Slogan: Home of peace and tourism

Current Governor: Simon Lalong

32. Rivers

  • Capital: Port-Harcourt
  • Slogan: Treasure base of the Nation
  • Current Governor: Ezenwo Nyesom Wike

33. Sokoto

  • Capital: Sokoto
  • Slogan: Seat of the Caliphate
  • Current Governor: Aminu Waziri Tambuwal

34. Taraba

  • Capital: Jalingo
  • Slogan: Nature’s gift to the Nation
  • Current Governor: Darius Ishaku

35. Yobe

  • Capital: Damaturu
  • Slogan: Pride of the Sahel 
  • Current Governor: Mai Mala Buni

36. Zamfara

  • Capital: Guasau
  • Slogan: Farming is our pride
  • Current Governor: Muktar Idris

* Federal Capital Territory (FCT) – Abuja

  • Slogan: Centre of Unity
  • Current Minister: Muhammed Bello

1 thought on “States And Capital In Nigeria, Their Slogans & Current Governors 2020”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.