Swift Code Of All Nigerian Banks (Updated)

Swift codes of Nigerian banks are very important to bank customers especially for those who want to send money abroad or receive money from other foreign nations to Nigeria.

Nigerian banks swift codes
Image Source – Caproasia.com

If you’re a Nigerian online entrepreneur or digital marketer, you should have come across this section several times when filling a payment application form and maybe this led to start asking questions like How can I get the swift code of my bank? Is it even Necessary? Do Nigerian banks have swift codes? and many other questions.

In this article, we will be giving you a complete list of the swift code of all registered banks in Nigeria.

Without wasting more time, let’s get down to business.

What Is A Swift Code?

This post wouldn’t be complete if we didn’t at least explain what a swift code is.

The acronym SWIFT stands for “Society for Worldwide Interbank Financial Telecommunication” and a Swift Code is simply a code which is used to identify the country, bank and branch that a bank account is registered to.

It is one of the standard formats which is used to identify financial and non-financial institutions all over the world. The SWIFT Code is a business identifier methods approved by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO).

Just in case, “Swift Code” is also used interchangeably with some Acronyms/Words by some banks/institutions in the world. other popular names for the Swift code are listed below.

  • BSC (Bank Sort Code)
  • BIC
  • CHIPS (Clearing House Inter-Bank Payment System)
  • IFSC (Indian Financial System Code)
  • NCC (National Clearing Code)

How Swift Codes Are Formed

Swift Codes for Nigerian banks usually consist of either 8 or 11 characters(Mostly CAPITAL letters). The swift codes for the head offices of Nigerian banks are usually 8 characters while the swift codes of other bank branches are usually 11 characters.

All Swift codes of Nigerian banks use a particular format.

Below is the format in which these swift codes are formed



  • First 4 characters (AAAA) is the bank code (only letters)
  • Next 2 characters (BB) is the ISO 3166-1 alpha-2 country code (only letters)
  • Next 2 characters (CC) is the location code (usually letters and digits)
  • Last 3 characters (DDD) is the branch code (usually letters and digits which is present in the Swift Code for branch offices but absent in the Swift Code for head offices)

Uses Of Swift Codes

  • Necessary when you want to send or receive money to other countries from or to your Nigerian bank account.
  • A standard way of identifying banks and financial institutions worldwide
  • A SWIFT code may also be used by various banks to transfer other messages.

Complete List Of The Swift Codes Of All Nigerian Banks

S/NBank In Nigeria (Head Offices)Swift BIC Codes
1.Central Bank of NigeriaCBNINGLA
3.Diamond Bank PLCDBLNNGLA
4.Fidelity Bank PLCFIDTNGLA
5.First City Monument Bank PLC (FCMB)FCMBNGLA
6.First Bank Nigeria LimitedFBNINGLA
7.Guaranty Trust Bank PLCGTBINGLA
8.Skye Bank Swift CodePRDTNGLA
9.Union Bank of Nigeria PLCUBNINGLA
10.United Bank of Africa (UBA)UNAFNGLA
11.Citibank Nigeria LimitedCITINGLA
12.Ecobank Nigeria PLCECOCNGLA
13.Heritage Bank LimitedHBCLNGLA
14.Keystone Bank LimitedPLNINGLA
16.Standard Chartered Bank LimitedSCBLNGLA
17.Sterling Bank PLCNAMENGLA
20.Suntrust Bank Nigeria LimitedSUTGNGLA
21.Providus Bank PLCPROVNGLA
22.Coronation Merchant BankADHLNGLA
23.FBN Merchant BankKDHLNGLA
24.FSDH Merchant BankFSDHNGLA
25.Rand Merchant BankFIRNNGLA
26.Jaiz Bank LimitedJAIZNGLA


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.