Skip to content

Nigeria’s Neighbouring Countries : Full List

Nigeria is surrounded by four neighbouring African countries that it shares various boundaries with. These countries include Benin, Niger, Chad, Cameroon. In this article we will be discussing about this four countries. Read also: Where & How to download Nigeria Nollywood movies online (2023)

Nigeria’s Neighbouring Countries: Full List

Nigeria’s Neighbouring Countries : Full List

Republic of Benin

Benin is situated in West Africa and is bordered by Nigeria to the east, Niger to the north, Burkina Faso to the northwest, Togo to the west, and the Atlantic Ocean to the south. The capital city of Benin is Porto-Novo, but Cotonou is the largest city and serves as the economic and political center. Benin is a democratic republic with a multi-party system. It gained independence from France in 1960 and has several attractions for tourists, including the historic city of Ouidah, known for its role in the transatlantic slave trade, and the Royal Palaces of Abomey, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. 


The country has several rivers, including the Niger and Ouémé, which are important for transportation and agriculture, they also practices various forms of Christianity and indigenous African religions, with a significant Muslim minority. The country is known for its traditional music, dance, and art. The ancient kingdom of Dahomey, which existed in what is now Benin, has left a significant historical and cultural legacy.

Republic of Niger

Republic of Niger, is located in West Africa. It is the largest nation in the region and covers an area of approximately 1.27 million square kilometers (490,000 square miles). 


The capital of Niger is Niamey, which is also the largest city in the country and has a population of over 24 million people. Niger gained independence from France in 1960. Since then, it has experienced periods of political instability and military coups, as well as efforts to establish democratic governance. It has a unique natural beauty, including the Tenere Desert, the Air Mountains, and the Niger River. French is the official language of Niger, although various indigenous languages are spoken throughout the country, with Hausa being one of the most widely used. 



Chad is the fifth largest country in Africa, covering an area of approximately 1.3 million square kilometers, N’Djamena is the capital and largest city of Chad. It is located in the southwestern part of the country, along the Chari River.   


Arabic and French are the official languages of Chad, reflecting its colonial history. However, there are over 100 different languages spoken by various ethnic groups with a population of over 16 million people, with a wide range of ethnic and cultural groups. Chad’s economy is based on agriculture, oil production, and mining. It’s one of the world’s poorest countries and is known for its wildlife and national parks, such as Zakouma National Park, which is home to a wide range of animals, including elephants, lions, and giraffes.


Cameroon is known for it varies landscape, which includes dense rainforests, savannas, mountains, and a long coastline along the Gulf of Guinea in the Atlantic Ocean. The capital city of Cameroon is Yaoundé. Cameroon is a nation, with over 250 different linguistic groups, their languages are French and English, a legacy of its colonial history, where it was once a German colony before being divided between France and the United Kingdom. The economy of Cameroon is largely based on agriculture, with products like cocoa, coffee, and oil being major exports. Cameroon is a republic with a presidential system of government. Paul Biya, who has been in power since 1982, has been the President for a long time. 


How many countries are Nigeria?

Nigeria is a multi-ethnic and culturally diverse federation which consists of 36 autonomous states and the Federal Capital Territory.


Does Cameroon share border with Nigeria?

Nigeria is located on the western side of Africa. It shares its border with Niger in the north, Chad in the northeast and Cameroon in the east.


Is Niger the poorest country in Africa?

The ten poorest countries in Africa are Western Sahara, Burundi, Somalia, Central African Republic (CAR), Mozambique, Madagascar, Sierra Leone, the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), Niger, and Eritrea. 


What is the name of the border between Nigeria and Benin Republic?

The Seme-Krake border, it is  between Benin and Nigeria, about 37 km from Cotonou on the principal coastal road between Cotonou and Lagos, Nigeria.



Understanding these neighboring countries and how they play roles in trade, diplomacy, and regional stability. These nations has contribute to the  African continent, sharing common challenges and opportunities as they seek to build prosperous and peaceful futures. 


Share this post on social!

Faith Oluwa

Faith is a content and creative writer with a passion for storytelling and a natural flair for compelling content who is bursting with talent and ready to make her mark in the world of writing. She has all the skills necessary to succeed in this competitive field.View Author posts